Protecting Public Health and the Environment.

Drinking Water Operator Resources

A drinking water operator is defined in the Idaho Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals Act as "any person who operates public drinking water systems, water treatment plants or other systems in order to treat water so that it is safe to drink and who holds a current Idaho water system operator license." The law requires drinking water operators to be licensed by the Idaho Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals to operate, offer to operate, be in responsible charge of, or to otherwise serve as operating personnel at any public drinking water system.

Interested in Becoming a Licensed Operator in Idaho?

The Idaho Board of Drinking Water and Wastewater Professionals oversees licensing of operators in Idaho. The board establishes requirements for operator licenses, determines education and continuing education requirements, sets fees, evaluates applications, and determines whether licenses should be issued. The board entered into an agreement with the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses (IBOL) to review and recommend applications, administer examinations, collect fees, and issue operator licenses.

IBOL Contact Information

For More Information

To learn more about operator training opportunities, licensing requirements, and fees, and to apply for an operator license, link to these pages on the IBOL website:


Staff Contacts

Drinking Water Program Manager
Jerri Henry
DEQ State Office
Water Quality Division
1410 N. Hilton
Boise, ID 83706
(208) 373-0471
jerri.henry@deq.idaho.gov

Drinking Water Compliance Supervisor
Brandon Lowder
DEQ Boise Regional Office
1445 N. Orchard St.
Boise, ID 83706
(208) 373-0550
brandon.lowder@deq.idaho.gov

Drinking Water Program Supervisor
Anna Moody
DEQ Coeur d'Alene Regional Office
2110 Ironwood Parkway
Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
(208) 666-4612
anna.moody@deq.idaho.gov

Water Quality Engineer
Carlin Feisthamel
DEQ Idaho Falls Regional Office
900 N. Skyline Drive, Suite B
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
(208) 528-2650
carlin.feisthamel@deq.idaho.gov

Drinking Water Coordinator
Elizabeth Braker
DEQ Lewiston Regional Office
1118 "F" St.
Lewiston, ID 83501
(208) 799-4370
elizabeth.braker@deq.idaho.gov

Drinking Water Coordinator
Trina Burgin
DEQ Pocatello Regional Office
444 Hospital Way, #300
Pocatello, ID 83201
(208) 236-6160
trina.burgin@deq.idaho.gov

Drinking Water Program Coordinator
Aaron Trevino
DEQ Twin Falls Regional Office
650 Addison Avenue West, Suite 110
Twin Falls, ID 83301
(208) 736-2190
aaron.trevino@deq.idaho.gov

Other Contacts

State Rules

Related Pages

Public Water Systems in Idaho

Public Water System Switchboard

Public Water System Classifications

Public Water System Supervision Requirements